How To Plan A South Carolina Wedding
Now that you’ve figured out how to obtain your South Carolina marriage license, it’s time to plan your big day. If you aren’t sure where to start when it comes to planning your wedding in South Carolina, don’t worryâwe’ve got you covered. Here’s what you need to know about planning an SC wedding and where to get started.
Making The Ceremony Official
Pop back in later for our next post about the typical ceremony order! For now, here is the MOST important info we could give you on this topic:
For a marriage to be legally binding, the ceremony must include two key elements:
- The Declaration of Intent known as the Do you take I do exchange.
- The Pronouncement, where you will pronounce the couple officially married
Officiating A Wedding In South Carolina
Next, you should contact the office of your local marriage authority . Let them know that you are a minister of the Universal Life Church in Seattle, and ask what they will require of you to officiate a legal marriage.
Select your Probate Court to quickly generate the contact information for your local marriage authority.
Also Check: Wedding Expense Spreadsheet
Ceremony And North Carolina Marriage Licenses
Whether you are having a civil or religious ceremony, you must obtain a marriage license from the register of deeds of the county in which the marriage is to take place. The register of deeds issues the license only if the couple meets the legal requirements to marry.
A marriage license is valid for 60 days and the marriage ceremony itself can take place at any time within that 60 days. It is a misdemeanor to obtain a marriage license by misrepresentation or false pretenses.
Certain marriages between a man and woman licensed and solemnized according to the law or mode of solemnization of an Indian tribe or nation recognized by our federal or state government will be recognized as a valid legal marriage without a marriage license issued by a register of deeds.
After the marriage, the person performing the marriage is required to give the newlyweds a marriage certificate. The marriage certificate must be signed by the person performing the marriage and returned to the register of deeds in the same county that the marriage license was issued. The marriage certificate is the official record of the couple’s marriage ceremony.
Plan Book Celebratewith Confidence
Find local vendors to bring your celebration to life.
With verified reviews and thousands of ratings, it’s easy to book the perfect vendor for all types of eventsno matter how big or small.
Free Booking Platform
It’s free to book and make secure online payments through The Bash. Once the booking is confirmed, it’s covered by Our Guarantee.
Our US based team of Account Specialists are here to help every step of the way. Since 1997, we’ve connected planners with vendors for over half a million events.
Read Also: Addressing Families On Wedding Invitations
What Do You Need To Get A Marriage License In South Carolina
In addition to the marriage license application itself, there are some key documents you’ll want to bring with you to your appointment at the Probate Court. These documents vary by age, so be sure to check the specific requirements at your Probate Court based on your age. Here’s what we were able to pin down.
If you’re a 16 or 17-year-old minor applicant, you’ll need to present proof of age with your birth certificate when applying for your marriage license, in addition to your letter of parental consent from a notary. You might also need to provide a state-issued ID for your parent or legal guardian providing parental consent.
For applicants 18 and older, you’ll need to present a valid government-issued ID and your social security cards or other documents that can verify your social security number. If you are a resident alien who doesn’t have a social security number, you’ll need to present your visa, resident alien card or proof from the Social Security Office stating you don’t qualify for a SSN.
To apply for your South Carolina marriage license, you and your future spouse need to show up in person together at the Probate Court. Your marriage license can be used in any county in the state. For the most part, it seems that South Carolina marriage licenses don’t expire, but certain counties appear to give a six-month timeframe from issuance for the marriage ceremony to be performed before you have to reapply. Check with the county you’re applying in for specifics.
What’s Considered A Common Law Marriage In South Carolina
The state of SC was one of few states that allowed common law marriage prior to 2019. Couples who entered a common law marriage in South Carolina before the 2019 ruling by the Supreme Court of South Carolina are still recognized. But the state abolished common law marriages in the ruling of Stone v. Thompson, which means common law marriage is off the table.
Also Check: Does Randy Fenoli Have A Partner
North Carolina Marriage Laws
North Carolina marriage laws place limits on who can marry based on a person’s age and blood relationship to their prospective spouse.
- A minor between the ages of 16-18 years: If he or she receives the written consent of his or her parent having full or joint legal custody, or of the person, agency or institution havinglegal custody of the minor, or of a person serving as guardian of the minor.
- Minors between the ages of 14-16: If the prospective wife is pregnant, or has given birth, and intends to marry the father of her child. The marriage of minors between the ages of 14-16 must also be authorized by a district court. The court can authorize an underage marriage if the court determines that the minor is capable of assuming the responsibilities of marriage and that the marriage will be in the minor’s best interests. If the minor’s parents oppose his or her marriage, then it is presumed that it would not be in the minor’s best interests to marry.
- Minors under the age of 14: Marriage laws NC hold that it is unlawful for any person under the age of 14 to marry.
- In regard to the blood relationship between the prospective spouses, North Carolina marriage laws forbid the marriage of persons who are in the same family.
- First cousins may marry, but persons who are closer kin than first cousins may not marry.
Pick Up The Marriage License In Person
Once you have applied, you must visit the specific NC Register of Deeds Office from which you applied for your marriage license in person to pick it up.
You and your spouse will both need to be present and bring the following:
Both spouses valid photo I.D.s
Both spouses social security cards
$60 Fee – either cash, money order, debit/credit card or personal check
Double check that both copies of your marriage license are filled out correctly – check for any typos or misprints.
Be sure that there is a return envelope provided as well.
Bring both copies of your marriage license to your wedding!
Make sure it is placed somewhere secure and wont succumb to any coffee or food stains.
Don’t Miss: Get Ordained Online Nj
How Are South Carolina Online Ordinations Legal
To better understand the legal underpinnings of how online ordinations work in relation to gaining the authority to officiate weddings in South Carolina, it is helpful to familiarize yourself with an esoteric legal term, Solemnization of Marriage. Solemnization of Marriage is simply a fancy way of saying, Perform Marriage, Conduct a Wedding, or Officiate a Wedding. Solemnize is the official act of conducting a wedding ceremony. This is how the act of performing a wedding ceremony is described in the South Carolina Code of Laws. Below is the law that specifies who exactly can Solemnize Marriage in South Carolina:
South Carolina Code of Laws § 20-1-20
Only ministers of the Gospel, Jewish rabbis, officers authorized to administer oaths in this State, and the chief or spiritual leader of a Native American Indian entity recognized by the South Carolina Commission for Minority Affairs pursuant to Section 1-31-40 are authorized to administer a marriage ceremony in this State.
Step : Say I Do Or Something Similar
In North Carolina, we keep a few things traditional when it comes to getting married! In order to be properly married in this state, you and your spouse must clearly express your desire to be married to each other. This ensures that the marriage is not taking place against anyones will.
The most common examples of this are:
Do you Alex take Morgan to be your lawfully wedded partner? I Do
Alex, do you wish to join Morgan in marriage? Yes
Feel free to be as traditional or as creative as youd like! All we need is a Yes!
Photo Credit: Jessica Merithew Photography
You May Like: Mills Fleet Farm Wedding Registry
Can My Friend Or Relative Still Perform My Wedding Ceremony
Many professional legally ordained officiants are happy to include friends and relatives in the ceremony. I have officiated many weddings with the couples friend or relative and give the couple the choice of having that person perform the entire ceremony or have their friend or relative do parts of the ceremony.
Another solution is to go to the courthouse before your wedding day and pay $20 for a magistrate to perform a simple civil wedding ceremony and legally marry you. Then the public ceremony later can be performed by your friend or relative.
A professional wedding officiant has the expertise and experience to work with you to create a personalized and meaningful wedding ceremony and deliver it with grace on your wedding day, knows how to conduct a rehearsal, and can handle any unexpected incidents that may arise on your wedding day whereas online ordained friends and relatives lack this experience and expertise.
It is important to me that couples marrying in North Carolina not risk the validity of their marriages and I am here to serve them in any way I can. I am most happy to answer any questions on this subject. I have been seminary-ordained since 1997 and have officiated over 2000 weddings since then.
Reverend Kayelily Middleton
Understanding Nc Laws & Regulations For Marriage
On a personal level, the decision to marry is one of the most important decisions you will make in your life. And for many persons, the marriage ceremony is embodied with great religious and spiritual meaning.
On a more fundamental level, marriage is also a legal contract governed by North Carolina state law. Marriage is governed by NC state law because of the long-held belief that the state has a strong public interest in promoting and protecting marriage and families. In that pursuit, North Carolina marriage laws define not only what constitutes a valid legal marriage, but also the obligations and rights that arise from the marriage contract.
Also Check: How To Address A Family On A Wedding Invitation
Getting Married In South Carolina
South Carolina does not require that a wedding ceremony be attended by any witnesses. However, the couple and the officiant must be present at the ceremony. The content of the ceremony is up to the couple, but it must include an express declaration of intent to be wed. Typically, couples indicate their intent to be wed by saying, I do. In addition, the minister or officiant performing the ceremony must make a formal pronouncement that the couple has just been wed.
Step : Find Your Witnesses
In order to have a legal North Carolina wedding ceremony, you must have an ordained officiant and two legal witnesses present. Your two witnesses must be 18 years of age or older and will need to sign the marriage license as well.
If you are eloping and there are no friends or family members present, you can ask your wedding planner and photographer to be your witnesses!
Photo Credit: Bren Photography
Also Check: How To Stuff Wedding Invitations Without Inner Envelope
Jamie Lee Curtis To Officiate Daughter’s Cosplay
Monday, April 11 weather update for Wisconsin and southeast Minnesota
During an appearance on Jimmy Kimmel Live! on Tuesday night, the Halloween Ends actress revealed that she will be hosting the nuptials of her daughter Ruby and her partner Cynthia at her home in May. But Jamie won’t be wearing a traditional mother-of-the-bride outfit for the wedding as Ruby and Cynthia have requested she dress up as World of Warcraft’s Jaina Proudmoore for the event. “It is a cosplay wedding. That means you wear a costume, you dress up as something. I went on Etsy and wrote ‘Jaina Proudmoore costume’ and up came a woman, had the costume.
How To Perform A Wedding In South Carolina
Congratulations! If you’ve found yourself at this page it is likely that you are either planning to be married or have been asked to perform a wedding ceremony in South Carolina. Ordained ministers of the Universal Life Church have successfully performed thousands of legal marriages in South Carolina. The information provided below will walk you through the steps one must follow to become a minister and perform a valid wedding ceremony in the state of South Carolina.
- Marriage License Waiting Period: 1 Day
- Marriage License Valid For: Never Expires
- Marriage License Return Within: 15 Days
Read Also: Randy Fenoli Partner
What To Look For In A South Carolina Wedding Venue
Giving your guests a dose of Southern hospitality comes with nearly every venue in SC. No matter where you choose to get married, you’ll want to choose a venue that’s right for you and has everything to offer to help you bring your big day to life. The good news is, your options are endless, and we’ve rounded up some of the best options for you to choose from.
Know Your States Requirements
Each state controls the services of their designated Notary Publics. Notaries looking for a way around this, have one of two options open:
The one-day designation still calls for extra paperwork, so youll need to make sure youre approved prior to the actual wedding day. Otherwise, the marriage could be considered null and void.
You May Like: Wedding Planning Template Excel
Wedding Considerations In South Carolina
Aristocratic South Carolina, with its collection of stately plantations, boisterous barn venues, and elegant beaches, has something for every wedding couple. Hereâs what you should keep in mind as you approach your big day . Unlike most states, South Carolinaâs most popular wedding seasons are spring and summer. Springs are cooler and dryer temperatures typically range from the mid-sixties to the mid-seventies. Summers are hot and humid. Temperatures often linger around ninety degrees Fahrenheit and refuse to drop until you are drenched in sweat. Dress appropriately! Climate aside, South Carolina is a wonderful state for a wedding. Beach weddings are very popular, and Saint Helena Island, Hilton Head Island, and Myrtle Beach all showcase the very best of South Carolinaâs beaches. If your couple desires a more traditionally Southern wedding, you may find yourself at Magnolia Plantation and Gardens, one of South Carolinaâs most famous former plantations. So how much should you charge as an officiant? The amount you should charge depends on how much experience you have, the degree of difficulty or complexity of the ceremony, and whether youâll be asked to travel.